Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour

Kochi port Kerala

DSC00289

This post is in response to Weekly Photo Challenge. This week’s topic is to go out and take a click of “The Golden Hour”. Golden Hour is first and last hour of sunlight of the day. Photography has not been my hobby but I very much wanted to buy a camera for myself since my college days. After I started working, I bought myself a Sony Cyber Shot Camera DSC-S730 with 7.2 Mega Pixels (basic model). These two photos are initial photos I took from my camera when we went to Kerala to attend my Team Lead’s wedding. I have not done any photo editing to any of these photos.

The place is Kochi/Cochin port which is on Arabian sea and one of the largest ports in India. These two photos especially the first one was most appreciated by my team mates. As soon as I read this week’s weekly Photo Challenge topic “The Golden Hour” first thing came to my mind was these photos that I had captured and loved when I bought my camera. I showed this to all my family and friends, who loved the color of the sky captured during sunset. The first photo was taken when the sun was setting and second one just after sun set.

In India Kerala is well known as ‘God’s own country’ for it’s natural beauty. It is well known for houseboats. We rented a houseboat in Alleppey and spent a day. The houseboat had 5 rooms with attached bath in each rooms and a huge dining room on first floor to accommodate 20 of us. It also had a kitchen, we were given a cook who prepared food which was not so great!! There are smaller ones too with one or two rooms. Below are some photos taken from our boat house at ‘The Golden Hour’.

DSC00138

Houseboat - just after sunset

Houseboat – just after sunset

Houseboats

Houseboats

19 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour (Malta) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: THE GOLDEN HOUR | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – The Golden Hour | Just Snaps

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – The Golden Hour | Chittle Chattle

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour | Mike Hardisty Photography

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge ~ The Golden Hour | WoollyMuses

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour | Endless Skys

  8. yarnwuseleien.wordpress.com : Thanks for sharing your experience 🙂 Loved your “sitting on elephant” experience, I should try once 🙂

Leave a Reply

