Chandamama – children’s magazine

PicMonkey Collage

I happened to read 1991 issue of “Chandamama” magazine yesterday. I was reading this magazine after I guess 20 years!! Chandamama was abundantly available at my granny’s place, whenever I went there for summer vacation I got to read it. Mostly they were in Kannada language – my mother-tongue. Some of the stories were ‘Vikram Betal’, ‘Veer Hanuman’, ‘Panchatantra’ and some short stories chosen from other traditions. The adds reminded me of my childhood days,Naturo mango fruit bar –  the chocolates I ate, the other magazine ads like Diamond comics. Surprisingly adds were so less then unlike these days in every page there’s an ad. At my granny’s house older issues of Chandamama were available like 1970s, 1960s and 1980s. The price surprised me, they were available for 50 paise, 1 Rs, 3 Rs. Those were the days!! Lucky am I to have seen them.

Leave a Reply

